• Goosnargh: 01772 861300 | Conway Drive: 01772 718774
  • Watling Street Road: 01772 700671 | Kirkham: 01772 681992

Alex Forrester, Small Animal Support

Alex Forrester, Small Animal Support

We asked Alex, a member of our Support Team here at Goosnargh, why she wanted to work here at Oakhill and what inspires her to want to work with animals.

What made you want to work at Oakhill vets?
I think one of the main reasons I wanted to work at Oakhill is because, even from being little, I have loved animals. We have always had a dog in the house, the number of them has just grown over the years and we’ve had horses for as far back as I can remember. I love the fact that we can help the creatures that don’t have a voice to tell us what’s wrong. Plus, I don’t think there are many places to work where every day you get a puppy or kitten to cuddle!

What do you like most about working with animals?
The best thing about working with animals is that, especially with dogs, even when they’ve been through a lot, you still get a waggy tail and a happy face to greet you.  Obviously working with animals, it isn’t always a plain sailing, and you will be a part of one of the most difficult times in a person’s life. If we can make that even the slightest bit easier, in my eyes, it makes my job completely worth while.

What is a typical day like supporting the veterinary team?
A typical day working with our team is always busy. For instance, working with Andrew means you never know what you’re going to get through the door. It could be a chihuahua to an 8ft Nile monitor lizard!!

I have seen an array of animals here that I never would have normally seen. Every person who works here brings something different to the team, and it’s amazing to watch everyone work together like a well-oiled machine (the oil being the amount of tea and coffee we drink during the day!).

Do you have any pets of your own?
I sure do, I have 4 dogs; a parson’s terrier called Alfie, a springer spaniel called Susie and two rottweilers called Teddy and Douglas and I am step mum to my boyfriend’s Lancashire heeler Joey. We lost our old boy Trevor, a little Jack Russell, at the start of lockdown and the house has been very strange without him. I also have 2 horses, a 13.2 fell pony called Thomas and a 17hh hunter called Hugo. 

If you could be any animal, what would it be and why?
This is a really difficult question, because as soon as anyone asks this, you instantly think of all the things that could go wrong. I always thought I would want to be a duck because they can swim and fly but knowing my luck, I’d end up in a pancake with some hoisin sauce!

So, given that, I think I would like to be my boyfriend’s dog, Joey as he has the easiest life ever. He lives on a dairy farm, potters about in the morning following everyone around as they do their morning jobs, then he goes to see the fishermen, scrounges snacks from their lunch boxes and then comes back at tea time, ready for his biscuits and to curl up in front of the fire. Bliss!